NBCCC logo


National Board for Certification in Continuity of Care, Inc.

Member Boards



Advanced Certification in Continuity of Care - What is it?

Certification in any field is part of a process known as credentialing. It focuses specifically on the individual and is an indication of current competence in a highly specialized field. Certification is normally denoted by a designation, used after the name. Certification in continuity of care is highly valued and provides formal recognition of advanced knowledge in this field. Candidates who meet the educational and work experience requirements and pass the written examination earn the designation of Certification in Continuity of Care, Advanced (A-CCC).

What will certification do for the continuity of care professional?

Participation in the certification process will demonstrate to colleagues, employers, patients and clients that the individual is a knowledgeable and committed professional, demonstrating expertise well beyond minimum standards. Certification will help the individual gain recognition for both their advanced competence and their professionalism.

What are the eligibility requirements for certification and recertification?

A baccalaureate degree, or higher and, two years of full-time experience in continuity of care within the last five (5) years are required in order to be eligible to sit for the exam. Applicants without a baccalaureate degree may be eligible to sit for the exam if they have eight (8) years of full-time experience in continuity of care within the last twelve years and provide verification that job responsibilities include continuity of care functions. Candidates who meet the educational and work experience requirements and pass the examination will be certified for a period of five years and earn the designation of Certification in Continuity of Care, Advanced (A-CCC). Advanced Certification in Continuity of Care is open to professionals in any health care related discipline, including but not limited to nursing, social work, therapists, clinical nutritionists and physicians. Recertification is required every five years. Candidates must present documented evidence of at least fifty (50) contact hours of continuing education pertinent to continuity of care over the five (5) year certification period or undergo re-examination.

Who sponsors the certification program?

The National Board for Certification in Continuity of Care (NBCCC) is the certifying body for advanced practice in Continuity of Care and sponsors the certification examination. The Continuity of Care Certification Examination, Advanced is administered for NBCCC by the Professional Testing Corporation (PTC). Contact NBCCC for additional information or contact PTC to order your examination handbook.

National Board for Certification in Continuity of Care
1350 Broadway, 17th Floor
New York, NY 10018

Telephone: (212) 356-0691
Toll Free: (888) 776-2023
Fax: (212) 356-0678
E-Mail: nbccc@pctny.com
Web Site: www.nbccc.net

PTC: Professional Testing Corporation
Telephone: (212) 356-0660
Fax: (212) 356-0678
E-Mail: ptcny@ptcny.com
Web Site: www.ptcny.com

Where and when will the certification exam be given?

The certification exam is given at twelve testing centers across the country. If a candidate’s location is too remote for testing at one of the designated centers, an alternate site may be arranged through the PTC for an additional fee. The examination is offered twice each year, in May and November.

What type of test is the certification exam?

The certification examination for continuity of care is a written examination composed of approximately 250 multiple choice, objective questions with a total testing time of four (4) hours. Questions for the exam are drafted by professionals with expertise in continuity of care and reviewed for content and construct validity, and appropriateness to the field of continuing care by NBCCC and PTC.

How do continuity of care professionals prepare for the exam?

Because of the nature of the continuity of care field, the examination will cover a broad area of content including the following general areas:

  • Continuity of Care
  • Process Health Care Delivery System
  • Professional Roles Within Continuity of Care
  • Professional Practice Skills
  • Standards of Practice
  • Third Party Reimbursement Systems
  • Legislation, Regulation & Medical-Legal Issues
  • Clinical Issues
  • Miscellaneous

What does certification mean in the field of continuity of care?

Certification is a voluntary seal of excellence which provides formal recognition of advanced competence in the field. Its purpose is to provide professional development for, and recognition of continuity of care professionals. Continuity of care is an interdisciplinary process that includes patients or clients, their families and significant others in the development of a coordinated plan of care. This process facilitates the patient’s or client’s transition between settings, based on changing needs and available resources. Continuity of care includes many situations beyond those traditionally associated with discharge planning or case management. Certification recognizes that the professional holding the designation demonstrates advanced competency in the many aspects of this challenging, constantly changing field and indicates an advanced level of expertise. Continuity of Care is a collaborative process that involves interdisciplinary responsibilities and is an essential component of the health care delivery system. The certification process promotes quality outcomes in the health status of the patients/clients we serve. NBCCC endorses the concept of voluntary certification by examination for all continuity of care professionals.